Interview with Peter Leithart about “Americanism”

Peter Leithart was interviewed about his most recent book, Between Babel and Beast, at the Gospel Coalition blog. Though I haven’t read the book, I believe one of my colleagues is planning to review it here at some point. In the mean time, I encourage you to check out the interview. It is full of provocative and challenging thoughts about what Leithart calls “Americanism.” Leithart tries to strike a balance between an outright rejection of “empire,” which is in vogue in the academy, and the uncritical acceptance of all forms of American exceptionalism (i.e., “Americanism”), which is in vogue in American evangelicalism. This interview has only made me more eager to get a copy of the book, though I expect it will be an uncomfortable read, in many ways.

About Peter Green

I am a doctoral student at Wheaton College. My dissertation is on vineyard imagery in the Old Testament, particularly as it is used to convey the theme of Creation to New Creation. My interests are (in no particular order): biblical ethics, epistemology, apologetics, sacramentology, science and faith, biblical theology, OT theology, biblical political philosophy, and intertextuality. I consider myself to be in the historic Reformed tradition, and attend a PCA church. I graduated from Covenant Theological Seminary--the PCA's denominational seminary--and hope work for Reformed University Fellowship, which is the PCA's campus ministry, following my PhD studies.
This entry was posted in Interviews, Political Theology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interview with Peter Leithart about “Americanism”

  1. Pingback: On Syncretism | For Christ and His Kingdom

Leave a Reply

